Nope. Try again.

SBU’s Jandoli School Earns Prestigious Accreditation


St. Bonaventure University’s Jandoli School of Communication is the newest journalism and mass communication program to receive prestigious accreditation by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC).

The Jandoli School is now among just 110 accredited journalism and mass communication programs out of nearly 500 in the United States. ACEJMC accredits less than 20 domestic private school programs. The organization also accredits eight programs outside the U.S.

The council voted 16-0 today to grant initial accreditation to both the Jandoli School’s undergraduate programs and its professional master’s programs in integrated marketing communications and strategic leadership.

“This is a huge validation of the great work that has been done in our program for nearly 70 years,” said Aaron Chimbel, dean of the Jandoli School.

Russell Jandoli founded the journalism department at St. Bonaventure in 1949. In 1992, a year after Jandoli’s death, the program was renamed the Russell J. Jandoli Department of Journalism and Mass Communication. In 1995, the program was elevated to school status and became the Russell J. Jandoli School of Journalism and Mass Communication. The school was renamed the Jandoli School of Communication in 2016 to better reflect its diverse offerings.

“I can’t say enough about Dean Chimbel and the work he’s done in such a short time here, making this accreditation effort a priority as he begins to build a 21st century vision for the Jandoli School on the foundation of our remarkable legacy in journalism education,” said Dennis R. DePerro, Ed.D., president of St. Bonaventure.

Chimbel began serving as Jandoli School dean Aug. 1, 2018.

ACEJMC evaluates programs on nine standards: Mission, Governance and Administration; Curriculum and Instruction; Diversity and Inclusiveness; Full-Time and Part-Time Faculty; Scholarship: Research, Creative and Professional Activity; Student Services; Resources, Facilities and Equipment; Professional and Public Service; and Assessment of Learning Outcomes.

The Jandoli School sought initial accreditation during the 2016-2017 academic year and received provisional status. Two distinguished educators, Jerry Ceppos, professor and former dean at Louisiana State University’s Manship School of Mass Communication, and Dr. Sheri Broyles, professor of advertising at the University of North Texas, visited campus in February for a re-visit and recommended full initial accreditation.

ACEJMC’s Accrediting Committee voted unanimously in March to support the school’s accreditation, as well.

The university offers four undergraduate degrees in the School of Communication – journalism, strategic communication, sports media and broadcast journalism – in addition to its two online master’s programs.

For more information about the school, visit


About Author

Leave A Reply